sistill.blogg.se

Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data
Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data




macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data
  1. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data install#
  2. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data serial#
  3. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data mac#

These are usually expressed in terms of peak read and write speeds, such as “500 MB per second,” and the number of input/output operations per second (IOPS). However, it turns out that a lot of the considerations you need to make are out of your control, as I’ll explain in a moment.Īll resellers will tout the incredible performance gains compared to a standard 5400 rpm hard drive. Like shopping for an HDTV, specs and marketing claims compete for your attention, leading to (in my case) a nearly vapor-locked brain.

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data install#

With that decided, I ordered a caddy to replace the optical drive (the $15 Hard Drive Caddy Tray for Apple Unibody MacBook / MacBook Pro 13 15 17 SuperDrive) and set off to find an SSD to install in it.Ĭhoosing an SSD - Start digging into options for SSDs and you might decide to stick with that old hard drive after all. I couldn’t avail myself of this approach with my older 2006 MacBook Pro, for example.)

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data serial#

(Swapping the optical drive for an SSD works only for recent MacBook Pros that treat the optical drive as just another Serial ATA device, like a hard disk. If I find myself regularly needing the drive while out of the house, I could also put the optical drive into a $39.99 OWC SuperSlim enclosure, turning it

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data mac#

The optical drive isn’t important to me - I rarely use CDs or DVDs, and I have an older Mac mini that can fulfill that role. I could keep my 500 GB hard drive for data storage and replace the MacBook Pro’s optical drive with an SSD which I’d use as the boot drive.

macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data

Could I pare the contents of my drive to fit within 256 GB? Possible, but recommendations from a few friends on Twitter presented another option.

macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data

Replacing the drive with an SSD of similar size was still too expensive for me, landing in the $600-$700 range. A lot of that storage is cruft like old video files from my years of writing about iMovie and old applications and data I’ve never properly cleaned out because it has always been easier to move to a larger hard disk. I’ve grown comfortable having a 500 GB drive - too comfortable, in fact, as I regularly bump up against the limit. The Capacity Conundrum, Part I - First, I had to resolve the question of just how much capacity I really need. Fortunately, that curve is flattening out, and so I decided I was ready for a speed boost. Prices of hard drives have remained low as capacities have risen, while SSDs have been expensive and have offered far less capacity than their spinning counterparts. SSDs have been almost exactly the opposite of hard drives in the key respects of price and capacity. SSDs are not new, but until now replacing my laptop’s hard drive with an SSD hasn’t been practical. For most other computers, the way to get flash storage is to install a solid-state drive (SSD), which puts the memory chips into an enclosure that fits into a hard drive bay. To conserve physical space, the flash storage in the Retina MacBook Pro is made up of strips of memory, much like RAM. Unlike a hard drive, flash storage has no spinning storage platters or read/write head skipping about to access data from physical locations on the discs, making data access much faster. The Retina MacBook Pro accomplishes its swiftness by using a fast CPU and graphics processor, but also by replacing a traditional hard drive with flash storage. But experiencing what’s possible and then returning to what’s normal was especially difficult when I had to send the Retina MacBook Pro back to Apple. I usually refresh my computer every three years or so, which has historically worked in my favor (see “ More Bang, Less Bucks for My MacBook Pro,” 20 November 2006). Yes, the high-resolution screen is beautiful, but coming from the experience of using a mid-2010 MacBook Pro, the machine’s overall speed made more of an impact on me.Īs tempting as the new machine is, however, I’m not yet ready to replace my current laptop. Apple sent a unit for me to review for my Seattle Times column, and I was impressed (see “ Retina MacBook Pro: a treat for the eyes, maybe not for the wallet”).

  • #1593: Wordle, vinyl skins for Apple laptops, Apple Music Voice Plan, ad hoc Wi-Fi networks.
  • #1594: iOS 15.2.1, AirTag stalking, CES Tech Trends for 2022.
  • #1595: Replacing the Time Capsule, AT&T and Verizon 5G coverage expands, is iOS 15's Focus overkill?.
  • #1596: OS updates, Apple Q1 2022 outpaces supply constraints, Yahoo POP bug, Apple Personal Safety User Guide, Simply Piano.
  • #1597: Apple Watch fitness tracking, cloud storage issues, Roku Express 4K+, watchOS 8.4.1.





  • Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data